Leader driven vs Leaderless replication

Hi, can anyone list me the pros vs cons of leader driven vs leaderless replication in distributed systems?

When would you use which approach and why?

I am new to distributed systems and want to learn concepts!

Thanks in advance!

Leaderless means you have no leader. So to agree on anything the participants have to go through the whole consensus process from scratch every time which is relatively expensive until there is a global order/topology on the nodes and they can benefit from it

With leader you have other kind of problems - fallback costs of leader reelection, membership change, fast path tradeoffs, brain split convergence etc

> “So to agree on anything the participants have to go through the whole consensus process from scratch every time”
Can you describe a scenario in the form of an example for this? I want to understand this better.

The real-life example you can find out on the streets is the implementation of the LWT in Cassandra, or read original papers about the implementation of Google Data Store (MegaStore)

Thanks a lot! I’ll read them both.

There are setups that have consensus to determine the leader and then writes are handled automatically by the leader which seems to be sort of in the middle between the two. Is that a distinct concept or does it fall into one of the above buckets

Or is that a weaker version of leaderless, while the stronger version is all writes go through consensus

> So to agree on anything the participants have to go through the whole consensus process from scratch every time which is relatively expensive until there is a global order/topology on the nodes and they can benefit from it
so in case of leaderless, if nodes are involved in consensus everytime, I am assuming that they might be using some consensus protocol like Raft/Paxos. Don’t the consensus protocols also themselves elect leaders to perform the consensus? So is it true leaderless?