YAML templates - is there a way to control where deployments go without flagging?

I am new to YAML deployment templates in Azure DevOps. Sorry if this question is very basic.

I just stared working with a team that has the YAML like the snippet shown below. The team changes the isDeployStageName: values such as isDeploySandbox or isDeployProduction from false to true to indicate which environment to deploy to. It results in a lot of modification of the azure-pipelines.yml being changed with pretty much every build and it feels error prone (if someone forgets to set a value back to false for example).

My question:
Is there a better way to do this with YAML deployment templates? I’m wondering if there’s a way to control where deployments go without the flags technique.

buildPlatform: 'Any CPU'
  buildConfiguration: 'Release'
  isBuild: true
  isDeploySandbox: false
  isDeployDevelopment: true
  isDeployTest: true
  isDeployStage: true
  isDeployProduction: false
  isPublish: true
  isSonar: false
  #ETC ...
stages:
- stage: BUILD
  displayName: BUILD
  pool:
    vmImage: 'windows-latest'
  jobs:
  - template: templates/build/REDACTED.yml

- stage: SANDBOX
  displayName: SANDBOX
  condition: and(succeeded(), eq(variables.isDeploySandbox, true), eq(variables.isFeature, true))
  dependsOn: BUILD```

Maybe this https://github.com/keboola/processor-strip-null/blob/main/azure-pipelines.yml#L16 could be an inspiration? The test stage runs on every push, the deploy stage runs only when a tag is pushed. You can further refine this i.e. a stage XY runs when tag XY-whatever is pushed

Build once & deploy many, then you can get rid of most of those booleans. You can set a single variable that determines how far a build goes into the pipeline, and set a conditional on each stage to check if the previous stage succeeded and if the stage sufficiently meets that flag criteria

, so that technique uses tags rather than committed variables?